This Week: Provincial Student Vote

This week Student Council helped run the Student Vote at Churchill for BC’s 2020 Provincial Election. On Thursday October 22nd, Churchill joined more than 700 elementary and high schools participating in the student vote.

“Based on current tallies, more than 85,000 students cast ballots, representing all 87 electoral districts in the province.” –

At Churchill, the majority of the students voted for Tessica Chi-Ying Truong of the NDP. The NDP received 222 votes in total from Churchill students, with Michael Li of the Liberal Party in a close second, receiving 180 votes.

In the Greater Vancouver Langara riding, students elected Tessica Chi-Ying Truong. Churchill was one of 8 schools that participated in the vote in this riding.

Across the province students elected John Horgan and the BC NDP to form a majority government with 59 out of 87 seats and 40 per cent of the vote. Students elected Sonia Furstenau and the BC Green Party to form the official opposition, with 16 seats and 28 per cent of the popular vote. Andrew Wilkinson and the BC Liberals have 12 seats and received 25 per cent of the vote.

The mock election gave Churchill students a great opportunity to practice voting and educate themselves on local politics. Student Council would like to thank Ms. Sinclair for organizing the student vote at Churchill in partnership with Civix Canada!